Motor Vehicle Surcharges Lawyer in New Jersey
The Assessment of Surcharges in New Jersey
In New Jersey, a surcharge is an additional cost or fine automatically imposed by the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) on a driver who has been convicted of violating certain motor vehicle offenses. A surcharge is independent of, and in addition to, any court fine or penalty.
What Offenses Carry Surcharges in New Jersey?
A $150 surcharge is applied for the accumulation of six or more points within 3 years of your last posted violation plus $25 for each additional point.
Some additional surcharges include:
- $100 for driving without a license
- $250 for driving with a suspended license
- $100 for failure to insure a moped
- $250 for operating an uninsured vehicle
- $3,000 for DUI, in-state or out-of-state ($1,000 per year for 3 years)
- $3,000 for refusal to take breathalyzer test, in-state or out-of-state ($1,000 per year for 3 years)
This list is not exhaustive and there are other offenses that may include a surcharge.
What Happens If I Do Not Pay a Surcharge?
Not paying a surcharge can be serious. An unpaid surcharge can result in additional fines, suspension of your driving privileges and the entry of a judgment against you. A judgment against you may lead to a lien on your property or the garnishing of your wages.
What If I Move to Another State Outside of New Jersey?
If you move to another state, you are still responsible for paying the surcharge.
How Do I Pay My Surcharge?
You can pay your surcharge online at http://www.njsurcharge.com/
I Wish to Contest My Traffic Ticket to Avoid Paying a Surcharge – What Should I Do?
Consult a New Jersey lawyer. If you have received a New Jersey traffic ticket, the Union County law firm of Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC may be able to assist you. We represent clients throughout New Jersey.
Free Consultations Available – New Jersey Traffic Ticket Lawyers
Contact us to schedule a free consultation.
You can reach us 24 hours a day/7 days a week. (908) 322-7000.