NJ Highway Accidents
Available 24 Hours a Day. 7 Days a Week
Anyone listening to the traffic reports in the Garden State will undoubtedly hear a long list of accidents on New Jersey’s highways. From an overturned tractor-trailer on Route 287 or a collision on the Garden State Parkway to an accident on the exit ramp of the New Jersey Turnpike, the list may seem endless.
New Jersey’s highways run considerable lengths: the New Jersey Turnpike stretches 90 miles, both Route 78 and Route 287 each run 68 miles, Route 22 is 66 miles long, and Route 1/9 measures 31 miles. Many of these highways are congested, with motor vehicles traveling at high speeds. Higher driving speeds and the presence of more vehicles on the roadway increases the risk of an accident and also increases the likelihood that the accident injuries are serious.
Car accident attorneys at Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC fight on behalf of clients who have been injured in New Jersey highway accidents. Our skilled team has been helping New Jersey families since 1984, with a track record of successful outcomes.
While there is no one single cause for highway accidents in New Jersey, there are several common causes, including the following:
When a highway accident is caused by driver negligence, the injured accident victim is protected under personal injury law. At Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC, our dedicated car accident team protects the rights of accident victims and fights on their behalf to recover damages.
Injured car accident victims may file a personal injury claim in the New Jersey civil court to recover losses for accident injuries and other damages. These are compensatory damages, intended to restore the injured person to the condition they were in before the accident. This compensation is not designed to punish the person responsible for the car accident.
Some losses have an exact monetary value; others are immeasurable. Injured car accident victims may recover both types of losses. When a loss does not have an exact value, the New Jersey court will weigh the elements of the personal injury claim and assign a financial value to that loss.
Compensation that may be recovered in a personal injury claim includes the following and more:
Determining how much you may recover for your accident can be challenging; to learn the potential value of your car accident claim, consult with an experienced personal injury attorney. The legal team at Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC offers a free case evaluation.
New Jersey highway accidents can leave you injured, suffering emotional pain and mental trauma, out of work, and out of money due to significant medical expenses. Let us help.
Attorneys at Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC have been helping New Jersey families through difficult times since 1984. With compassion, skill, and a fierce dedication to advocating for accident victims, our personal injury team has a record of positive outcomes for our clients. We are available to meet with you in your home or at the hospital, and we can be reached 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC offers a free case evaluation for accident victims so you can gain a clear understanding of what your accident case is worth, how the process works, and get answers to your pressing questions. Contact our office to schedule a consultation with an experienced personal injury attorney.
The legal time limit for filing a claim in a state’s civil court is known as the statute of limitations. Every state sets its own statutory deadlines and they depend upon the type of claim that is being filed. In New Jersey, the statute of limitations for a highway accident — which is a personal injury claim — is two years from the time the accident occurred. Statutes of limitations are very important legal deadlines; when accident claims are not filed before the deadline runs out, the case will be dismissed by the court and the injured person won’t be able to recover compensation for their accident injuries and other losses. If you are concerned that you may be unable to meet New Jersey’s statute of limitations for your highway accident claim, schedule a free consultation with an experienced accident attorney who will advise you of the legal steps to take in this situation.
If more than one person is responsible for an accident, New Jersey follows “modified comparative negligence” rules. These rules state that the damage award that an accident victim may recover will be negatively impacted. If it is determined that you are 15 percent responsible for your slip and fall accident, then your damage award will be reduced by 15 percent. This means that compensation of $5,000 will be reduced to $4,250. If it is found that you are more than 50 percent responsible for your slip and fall accident, you will be unable to recover any compensation from the other at-fault party.