What Should I Do If I Have Been Charged with Shoplifting?
Available 24 Hours a Day. 7 Days a Week
A shoplifting charge can be damaging to you and those that depend on you. In New Jersey, a third shoplifting conviction will result in a 90 day prison sentence. Without the proper legal defense, you could be putting yourself and your family at risk. The Union County law firm of Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC is ready to act now. Our lawyers specialize in criminal defense law and know how to help you.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11b, there are several different acts that can amount to shoplifting. These acts include:
The penalties for shoplifting in New Jersey can be severe depending on the value of the stolen merchandise. Under N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11c, the following penalties apply:
$75,000 or more:
Over $500 and less than $75,000:
$200 to $500:
Less than $200:
Always discuss your case with a New Jersey lawyer. If you have been charged with any of these offenses, our team of skilled lawyers and expert negotiators are prepared to vigorously defend you. We will get the surveillance tape and interview store security to assist you in your defense. Our law firm has handled shoplifting cases across Union County, New Jersey, including Plainfield, Scotch Plains, Fanwood, Garwood, and Westfield.
You can reach us 24 hours a day. Call (908) 322-7000
Contact us to schedule your free consultation today!