Traffic Offenses Involving Stop Signs and Yield Signs
Available 24 Hours a Day. 7 Days a Week
In New Jersey, motor vehicle offenses can have a serious impact on your finances. Failing to observe a stop or yield sign can result in fines, surcharges, higher insurance premiums, loss of license, or even jail time. If you have been cited for failing to observe a stop sign, the Union County law firm of Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC may be able to help you protect your wallet and the rights to your driver’s license.
Under N.J.S.A. § 39:4-144, a driver approaching an intersection marked with a stop sign must bring his or her vehicle to a complete stop within 5 feet of the nearest crosswalk or stop line. Therefore, slowing down or almost stopping at a stop sign is not sufficient. You must come to a complete stop or you are in violation of this statute.
Comparatively, at an intersection marked with a yield sign, a driver must slow to a reasonable speed, stopping if necessary, and yield the right of way to all traffic that may be of an immediate hazard. Here, slowing down or almost stopping may be enough to satisfy the law.
Failing to observe a stop sign or yield sign can result in a fine of $200 and 15 days in jail. In addition, 2 points will be assessed to your driving record by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Services.
Whether you are a New Jersey resident or from out-of-state, you should discuss your case with a New Jersey lawyer. We handle traffic infractions throughout Union County, New Jersey, including Plainfield, Scotch Plains, Fanwood, Garwood, Clark, and Westfield. On the client’s behalf, we will make sure the sign is State-sanctioned and visible. We will check the officer’s viewpoint to see if it was obstructed.
Contact us to schedule a free consultation today!
You can reach us 24 hours a day: (908) 322-7000.