Garden State Parkway Driving Without Insurance Attorney
NJ Traffic Violation Lawyers Help Clients Ticketed for Driving Without Insurance on the GSP
The Garden State Parkway runs for 172 miles from the southern end to the northern end of the state. Due to the regularity of traffic on this roadway, it is closely watched for traffic violations. One violation that is frequently enforced and severely penalized is driving without insurance.
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:6B-1:
- Every owner or registered owner of a motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this State shall maintain motor vehicle liability insurance coverage, under provisions approved by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance, insuring against loss resulting from liability imposed by law for bodily injury, death and property damage sustained by any person arising out of the ownership, maintenance, operation or use of a motor vehicle wherein such coverage shall be at least in: (1) an amount or limit of $15,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, on account of injury to, or death of, one person, in any one accident; and (2) an amount or limit, subject to such limit for any one person so injured or killed, of $30,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, on account of injury to or death of, more than one person, in any one accident; and (3) an amount or limit of $5,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, for damage to property in any one accident.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance on the Garden State Parkway in New Jersey
Those charged with driving without insurance may face heavy fines and loss of license. At Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC, our criminal attorneys possess the knowledge, skill and experience to handle driving without insurance offenses arising from the Garden State Parkway. Casey Woodruff, Gary Grabas, and Robert Rowbotham are all former Prosecutors. Jon M. Bramnick is a New Jersey “Super Lawyer” and Certified Trial Lawyer with over 30 years of trial experience. Our attorneys regularly represent those charged with driving without insurance and other traffic offenses throughout New Jersey.
New Jersey requires its drivers to maintain liability insurance on their motor vehicles. Coverage must consist of $15,000 for the injury or death of a person; $30,000 for the injury or death of more than one person; and $5,000 for property damage. If convicted of driving without insurance, drivers can face fines of $300-$1,000, loss of license for 1 year, and community service for the first offense. Penalties increase significantly upon each subsequent offense.
Experienced NJ Traffic Lawyers Can Help You Contest GSP Driving Without Insurance Tickets
Due to the severity of the charge, if you have received a ticket for operating a vehicle without insurance, you should discuss some possible defenses with a New Jersey lawyer. New Jersey courts have dismissed, as violating public policy, uninsured vehicle cases where one spouse failed to notify the other spouse that their motor vehicle insurance policy had been cancelled. Another defense may exist if the insurance company failed to notify you of the policy’s termination. If an insurance company fails to properly notify a client of a policy’s termination, then the policy may still be in effect. Thus, a person cited for operating an uninsured vehicle may have, in fact, been driving with insurance.
If you have been cited for driving without insurance, the law firm of Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC may be able to possibly assist you.
Free Consultations Available – Garden State Parkway Driving Without Insurance Lawyer
Contact us today to schedule a free initial consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyer. We offer direct access to our attorneys 24 hours a day. We can also assist clients who speak Spanish, French, and Polish.