Available 24 Hours a Day. 7 Days a Week
Drinking and driving in the state of New Jersey is a serious crime, punishable by loss of license, significant fines and maybe even jail time. It stands to reason, then, that the penalties for multiple DUI/DWI charges are extremely severe. If you get charged with DWI a second or subsequent time, you could lose your driver’s license in NJ for up to 10 years. Further, loss of freedom and huge financial loss are likely penalties.
New Jersey imposes a 10-year “lookback” period for drunk driving offenses. This means that a DWI arrest occurring anytime in the last decade since a prior conviction will be considered a second, or subsequent, offense. While a first offense may not require jail time, subsequent offenses often do. In fact, if convicted on a third DWI offense, a mandatory 180 day jail sentence, without parole, will be imposed. At the law offices of Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC, we examine every detail of your case and move forward with a skillful approach. We have successfully gotten charges reduced for clients in even the most difficult cases involving multiple DWI.
Get Free Advice From An Experienced DUI/DWI Lawyer. All You Have To Do Is Call 866-845-5571 or Fill Out Our Free Case Evaluation Form.
Depending on where you live in NJ, the ability to drive is extremely important when it comes to getting to and from work and all other activities. License suspension is another major consideration for subsequent DWI offenses. First offenses in New Jersey can carry a three to six month license suspension. The suspension period increases to two years for second offenses. If you are convicted of a third DWI/DUI offense, you could lose your driver’s license for 10 long years. Imagine not being able to get to work or school, to visit family and friends, to run errands and to get anywhere you need to go. There is no question that a long-term loss of driving privileges in New Jersey will change your quality of life and affect your personal and professional relationships.
Speak to a seasoned DWI lawyer at Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC. We will fight tirelessly to get your charges reduced or even dismissed. We understand how important your driver’s license is to you and we will defend your rights in an effort to allow you to retain it.
Find Out What Your Case Is Worth – Call 866-845-5571 or Fill Out Our Free Case Evaluation Form.
Experienced legal representation can be the difference between jail time and an alcohol and drug rehabilitation program. There are many defenses when facing multiple DWI charges or DUI charges. For example, convicted third time offenders are required to serve 180 days in jail, but this can be reduced to 90 if the offender enters a rehab program. Similarly, a skilled attorney can argue that the offenders “first offense” should not have been a conviction in the first place, therefore, the consequences for a multiple DUI/DWI charge would not exist.
Take for instance, an out-of-state DUI offense. If it can be proven that your first offense did not meet DUI requirements for the state of New Jersey, a knowledgeable attorney can argue that this new charge is, in fact, your first offense. At Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC, we have worked on countless DUI and DWI cases in Scotch Plains, Westfield, Union, Elizabeth and all over New Jersey. We know what works and we will use this knowledge to protect your rights.
If you are convicted of multiple offenses, the penalties increase accordingly. A breakdown of penalties is below:
Second DUI or DWI Offense Within 10 Years:
Third DUI or DWI Offense Within 10 Years:
The experienced and successful criminal defense lawyers at Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC have successfully defended countless DUI and DWI cases. Contact our legal team for a free consultation about your case in Bridgewater, Somerville, Bedminster, Hillsborough, Bernards Township and throughout New Jersey. We will be with you every step of the way.