Underage DUI/DWI Lawyers in Newark, NJ
Experienced Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys Help Minors Facing Underage DUI & DWI Charges in Plainfield, Elizabeth, and Linden, NJ
We all know that drunk driving is illegal in New Jersey, but many people don’t realize how easily an underage person can be charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). New Jersey has a close to zero-tolerance policy for underage DWI. Basically, this means that if any alcohol is found in the system of a person who is under the age of 21, underage DWI charges can apply. In fact, New Jersey law mandates that these charges apply for any person under the age of 21 who is operating a motor vehicle and who has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .01 percent or higher.
If you or someone you love has been charged with underage DWI in Elizabeth, Westfield, Scotch Plains, or anywhere else in Union County, NJ, it is imperative that you contact an experienced DUI/DWI attorney immediately. The seasoned attorneys at Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC will work closely with you to ensure that no detail is missed. If your constitutional rights were violated during your DWI arrest, your charges may be reduced or thrown out altogether. We have successfully defended many clients against DWI charges in New Jersey, but there is a limited window of opportunity to do so. Contact our office today for a consultation about your drunk driving case.
What Are the Penalties for Underage DWI in New Jersey?
Underage drunk driving violations in New Jersey carry severe penalties. For an underage driver who couldn’t wait to get their license, all your plans will be put on hold for at least 90 days. Hefty fines, possible jail time, time in a New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), and possible installation of an anti-lock device (an ignition interlock) on your car are all penalties that a judge can levy in an underage drinking case.
If the results of an Alcotest (Breathalyzer) reveal that you were driving while over the legal limit of .08 percent BAC (blood alcohol concentration), you will be considered drunk for the purposes of DUI/DWI.
- BAC = .08 to .099 percent: Up to 30 days in jail, license suspension of three months, 12-48 hours in IDRC, and fines of up to $400
- BAC = .10 or higher, or involving a controlled substance: Up to 30 days in jail, license suspension of 7-12 months, 12-48 hours in IDRC, and fines of up to $500
Experienced DWI Attorneys Fight Your Underage DWI Charges in Union County, Somerset County, and Essex County, NJ
An underage DWI on your record will have long-lasting negative effects. Many people think that DWI charges don’t show up in background checks, but this is not true. Colleges often perform background checks — and a DWI conviction may be the deciding factor in causing them to decline your application. Past convictions can also affect your ability to get a job. If you are up against several other candidates, who do you think the company is going to hire – you, or a similarly qualified candidate with no DWI conviction? Getting car insurance for a young person with a DWI conviction is nearly impossible. If you do manage to get coverage, it will almost certainly be prohibitively expensive.
The good news is that there are several defenses to underage DWI charges. A skilled New Jersey DWI/DUI attorney will be able to help you obtain the best outcome for your situation. The law team at Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC will examine every detail of your case to determine the best way to move forward. When a person with a BAC threshold of .01 percent or higher is charged with drunk driving, it is not uncommon for these low-BAC cases to have been caused by some other substance, such as mouthwash or even hand sanitizer. There is also the possibility that the person who administered the breath test was not certified to do so; that may be grounds for dismissal of your charges.
Whatever the specifics of your case may be, our attorneys will be your strongest advocates throughout the entire process. We will fight to make sure that your rights, and your reputation, are protected.
If You Have Been Charged with Underage DWI in Elizabeth NJ, Contact an Experienced DUI/DWI Attorney Right Away
The experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys at Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC are here to defend your rights and your freedom when you are charged with drunk driving or any other crime in New Jersey. Don’t let an underage DWI conviction come back to haunt you. Contact our law offices for a free consultation. We represent clients in Bedminster, Somerville, Bernards Township, Hillsborough, Bridgewater, and all over New Jersey.