Morristown Juvenile Crimes Lawyer
Available 24 Hours a Day. 7 Days a Week
Should your child or teenager be charged with an act of delinquency in Morristown, it is important to speak to a juvenile criminal defense lawyer who is experienced and knowledgeable in the field of New Jersey juvenile criminal law. There are many differences in the procedures used to prosecute adults and juveniles. One important issue that does not vary is your child’s right to remain silent. If your child has been charged with a juvenile offense, it is important to immediately consult with a New Jersey juvenile criminal defense lawyer before allowing your child to answer any questions or speak with the authorities.
If your child is 14 years or older and charged with an offense that would be a crime if committed by an adult, the agency charging your child will take all reasonable steps to fingerprint your child. This is permitted by the N.J.S.A 2A-BIa(3). It is also very likely that your child will be photographed for criminal identification purposes and a copy of his or her picture will be sent to the county prosecutor. Your child needs a juvenile defense lawyer to ensure the best outcome possible to protect him or her from possible consequences of a conviction that may affect college admission and future employment opportunities.
Some of the most common juvenile acts of delinquency are below:
After a child has been formally charged with an act of delinquency the case will most likely proceed in the following manner:
Hearings for juveniles charged as delinquents in Family Court are required to be held within specific mandated time limitations, in particularly regarding juveniles held in secure detention. N.J.S.A 2A:4A-38. The hearings are held in the following order and within the noted time periods: an initial detention hearing is to be held within 24 hours of admission; for juveniles remanded to detention, the initial probable cause hearing and second detention hearing are to be held within two court days; the juvenile is released from detention pending a subsequent hearing is probable cause is not found.
Detained juvenile review hearings are held at fourteen and twenty one day intervals where the individual’s detention status is reconsidered by a judge.
At the adjudicatory hearing, the court makes a determination on the delinquency charges. A juvenile may be adjudicated delinquent on one or more of the charges; the other charges are dismissed. After an adjudication of delinquency the judge will order a disposition. In detained cases, the disposition hearing is to occur within 60 court days of admission to detention unless extended by the court for good cause.
Judges are allowed a wide array of disposition in adjudicated cases by Code. Probation supervision is a common outcome, and probation is often ordered along with other requirements such as performing community service or paying financial restitution. In addition, probation is ordered along with more restrictive requirements such as entering a residential program or undergoing counseling. Probation is a major resource to the Family Court and the juvenile justice system. If your child is charged with a serious offense or has a history of juvenile delinquency, the Judge may also sentence your child to a period of incarceration in a state run juvenile detention facility.
To schedule a free consolation with one of our New Jersey juvenile criminal defense attorneys, call (908) 322-7000 or contact us via email. We are available 24 hours a day and we can also assist clients who speak Spanish, French, and Polish. We have an office located in nearby Florham Park.