New Brunswick Juvenile Crimes Lawyer
Available 24 Hours a Day. 7 Days a Week
The law firm of Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC handles juvenile crime cases in New Brunswick and throughout Middlesex County, New Jersey. Being charged with a juvenile crime can often be a traumatizing and overwhelming experience for all those involved. A child that is charged with a crime risks serious consequences that may impact their college admission and employment opportunities. Therefore, it is important to contact an experienced criminal lawyer if your child has been charged with a juvenile crime.
The lawyers at Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC specialize in juvenile defense law. Our criminal lawyers can help protect those charged with juvenile crimes from the devastating consequences they could potentially face. Gary Grabas, Casey Woodruff and Robert Rowbotham are all former prosecutors. Jon Bramnick is a New Jersey “Super Lawyer” and has over 30 years of trial experience.
In New Jersey, a juvenile is charged with an act of delinquency, not a crime. The Code of Juvenile Justice (N.J.S.A. 2A:4A-23) defines delinquency to include the commission of an act by an individual under age 18 which if committed by an adult would constitute a crime; a disorderly persons offense or petty disorderly persons offense; or the violation of any other penal statute, ordinance or regulation, excluding motor vehicle, curfew, and smoking in public.
Some of the more common juvenile acts of delinquency are set forth below:
After a child has been formally charged with an act of delinquency the case will most like proceed in the following manner:
Hearings for juveniles charged as delinquents in Family Court are required to be held within specific mandated time limitations, particularly regarding juveniles held in secure detention. N.J.S.A. 2A:4A-38.
The hearings are held in the following order and within the noted time periods: an initial detention hearing is to be held within 24 hours of admission; for juveniles remanded to detention, the initial probable cause hearing and second detention hearing are to be held within two court days; the juvenile is released from detention pending a subsequent hearing if probable cause is not found.
Detention Review Hearings
Detained juvenile review hearings are held at fourteen and twenty one day intervals where the individual’s detention status is reconsidered by a judge.
At the adjudicatory hearing, the court makes a determination on the delinquency charges. A juvenile may be adjudicated delinquent on one or more of the charges; the other charges are dismissed. After an adjudication of delinquency the judge will order a disposition. In detained cases, the disposition hearing is to occur within 60 court days of admission to detention unless extended by the court for good cause.
Judges are allowed a wide array of dispositions in adjudicated cases by Code. Probation supervision is a common outcome, and probation is often ordered along with other requirements such as performing community service or paying financial restitution. In addition, probation is ordered along with more restrictive requirements such as entering a residential program or undergoing counseling. Probation is a major resource to the Family Court and the juvenile justice system. If your child is charged with a serious offense or has a history of juvenile delinquency, the Judge may also sentence your child to a period of incarceration in a state run juvenile detention facility.
If your child or loved one has been charged with an act of delinquency, our criminal attorneys may be able to possibly assist him or her. To schedule a free consultation with one of our criminal lawyers, you can reach us at (732) 651-9999 for our Middlesex County office or (908) 322-7000 for our Union County location. We are available 24 hours a day.