866.845.5571
inner-banner

Good News for Workhorses: Workers’ Comp May Pay Death Benefits to Your Dependents

Available 24 Hours a Day. 7 Days a Week

Good News for Workhorses: Workers’ Comp May Pay Death Benefits to Your Dependents

That headline is both incredibly optimistic and, at the same time, rather depressing. However, for people who love to work, and work and work, knowing that your family may be taken care of if you die on the job can bring a sense of comfort.

As long as a death is considered directly related to either a workplace accident or illness caused by the job, New Jersey Workers’ Compensation law states that dependents of the deceased will be entitled to financial death benefits. Additionally, if an employee has a pending Workers’ Comp claim that has not been paid or that is in the process of being paid over time, dependents may still be able to collect after the employee passes due to a job-related situation.

In NJ, the term “dependent” is defined as: a spouse or civil union partner or children under 18 years of age who were living in the house with the decedent at the time of his or her death. This is important because, for example, if a couple is separated and living apart, the estranged spouse may not be considered a dependent for the purposes of Workers’ Comp death benefits.

Workers’ Compensation laws in New Jersey are complex. Speak to an experienced lawyer who knows the laws and will fight for your rights to maximum compensation. Contact Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC for sound legal advice on Workers’ Comp benefits law.

$5.5

million

/

Motorcycle Accident

$4.0

million

/

Bus Accident

$4.0

million

/

Bicycle Accident

view all case results