Drunk driving in New Jersey is serious business. Before you take that drink and get behind the wheel, you’d better be prepared to forfeit your driver’s license, pay hefty fines, and possibly face jail time. Think about all of the other things in life these consequences could affect – work? Kids? Social commitments? Therefore, you should not handle it alone.
It’s not unusual, after a few drinks, to feel as though you are invincible. If you are thinking that same way as you face DWI charges – think again. The number of accidents and deaths associated with drunk driving in New Jersey has compelled prosecutors to prosecute offenders to the fullest extent of the law. Before you go into court without a lawyer, there are a few things you need to know about why that is not a good idea..
First things first, let’s talk about what a drunk driving conviction gets you.
- The first time you are convicted of drunk driving in New Jersey you will be fined between $250 and $400. Your license will be suspended for up to one year and you may face up to 30 days in jail. You will also have to spend a minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an intoxicated driver resource center.
- The penalty for a second conviction is 90 days in jail, a $500-$1,000 fine and a two-year license suspension.
- Get caught and convicted a third time? You will lose your freedom for 180 days, pay significant fines and lose your driver’s license for 10 years.
No Plea Bargaining
There is no plea-bargaining for these DWI violations. This means that without an attorney, your only real hope is for leniency. The way the law is written, there really is no middle ground when it comes to drunk driving; without a lawyer you will definitely be fighting an uphill battle.
However, if you have a skilled criminal defense lawyer, options become available to you that might not otherwise be available such as challenging the field sobriety tests or the Breathalyzer results. With an aggressive criminal lawyer on your side of the table, we can argue the case be dismissed, or improperly gathered evidence be thrown out, or have your sentence mitigated. These are some of the lines of defense an experienced criminal defense attorney can use on your behalf.
But you won’t know if they apply to your case unless you call. So call Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC today so our experienced lawyers can face these charges with you and work on getting the best possible outcome for your case. We have a long and successful history helping our clients confront drunk-driving charges. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation and so we can get to work representing you in court.