New Jersey Underage Drinking Lawyers
Juvenile Crime Attorney Defends Minors Against Underage Drinking Charges in NJ
In New Jersey, an underage drinking charge is a serious offense and can have severe consequences. If you or your child has been charged with an underage drinking offense, the Union County law firm of Bramnick, Rodriguez, Grabas, Arnold & Mangan, LLC can assist you. Our defense lawyers have years of experience handling underage drinking cases and know how to help you.
Underage Drinking and Driving in New Jersey
Anyone under the age of 21 possessing a blood alcohol level of 0.01% or more, but less than 0.08% has violated New Jersey’s underage drinking and driving laws.
Under N.J.S.A. § 39:4-50.14, a licensed driver who violates this law will lose his or her license for a period of 30 days or more. An unlicensed driver who violates this law will be prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license for a period of 30 days or more from the date that person is eligible to obtain a license or the date of conviction, whichever is later. In addition, a violator must perform at least 15 days of community service and complete an alcohol education program.
Underage Possession or Consumption of Alcohol in New Jersey
Another underage drinking offense involves the consumption or possession of alcohol. Under N.J.S.A. §2C:33-15, anyone under the age of 21 who knowingly consumes alcohol is guilty of a disorderly persons offense.
Persons in violation of this New Jersey statute face fines of $500 or more, suspension or postponement of their driving privileges for a period of 6 months, and may be required to complete an alcohol education program.
I Have Been Charged with Underage Drinking – What Should I Do?
Underage drinking charges can seriously affect your future. Always discuss your case with a New Jersey lawyer. Our experienced defense lawyers are ready to fight for you. We handle underage drinking cases across Union County, New Jersey, including Plainfield, Scotch Plains, Fanwood, Garwood, and Westfield.
Free Consultations Available – NJ Underage Drinking Attorneys
Contact us to schedule your free consultation today!
You can reach us 24 hours a day/7 days a week. Call (908) 322-7000